Need help finding the right tutor?

When do you want to start?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Catherine tutors in Maple Valley, WA

Catherine M.

Private tutor in Maple Valley, WA

4Catherine M.

13 reviews

Education

California State University, East Bay - BA, Liberal Studies, Biological Sciences , Holy Names University - Graduate Degree: Multiple Subjects preK-Adult, Science Grades 9 andbelow, Teaching Certifications

Experience

I have a wealth of experience teaching both a vast range of subjects and a wide variety of age groups. One of my most memorable experiences was when I inspired my students to protect the environment by raising trout from eggs and releasing them into the wild. Another great experience was when I proved to my students that science could indeed be fun by showing them how to build soda bottle rockets. My students have ranged from kindergarteners all the way up to 8th graders. My specialties are science, mathematics, and helping kids in 3rd grade to 6th grade with their reading comprehension. I am equally able to handle students who are in accelerated learning programs and those in special education programs. I pride myself in being able to adapt my teaching techniques to each individual student, as I know that every brain absorbs information in its own way, and we as tutors must work just as hard as the students to learn new ways of reaching them. I am a huge proponent of setting goals, and I work with each new student to set both short-term and long-term goals for what we both want to accomplish. Along with skills in specific subject areas, I make sure to teach my student general tips for organized learning and study techniques that will be useful for the rest of their lives.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Fishing, cycling, knitting, gardening, wildlife rehabilitation (especially 'possums!)

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!